SOURCE Product Reviews (Page 8)

 

Write a review

Write a review and get 20% off your next purchase!

Write a review

Write a review and get 20% off your next purchase!
( you have to be logged in for the voucher
)

Love this Kangaroo for when you don't need to use a pack style hydration kit.With the UTA you can refill it with out even taking it out of the pouch.
 (0)
 (0)
I put this on my plate carrier and I can honestly say it is the best hydration pack I've ever used. It fits like it was originally there and you niether hear it or feel it when you move or run. Great job!
 (0)
 (0)
By Willz | 05/17/2013
Will it be any chances that this 95L pack comes in coyote brown? Coyote brown from Source really stands out from the rest of the brands.
 (0)
 (0)
I won't ever use anything else! I was amazed how fresh/clean the water tasted, even after being in it for 2 days.
 (0)
 (0)
By Neeser | 05/9/2013
Very durable, easy to care for and the best way to pack a lot of water. easy to use for refilling our 3 liter usmc wxp hydro packs (source vagabond). Source makes the very best hydro packs available today.
 (0)
 (0)
By rick FLANAGAN | 05/4/2013
An excellent product. I live in Australia and one quality I look for when buying my gear is strength and durability. These hydration systems are the best around. Easy to use, and fantastic features.
 (0)
 (0)
By rick FLANAGAN | 05/4/2013
These are by far the best socks i have ever owned. Very comfortable on long walks and nice and warm. I highly recommend them.
 (0)
 (0)
By Wachlan | 04/23/2013
great reservoir, easy to use and very practical. Really like the lack of maintenance needed.
 (0)
 (0)
By Tactical owl | 04/15/2013
First, excellent product. By far the best backpack I have ever owned. It is very spacious but not bulky. I compared it to the US military issued ILBE 65 liter backpack, and source pro 95L is by far a superior product. Though both show very good human engineering , quality, and ergonomics, this pack has an edge over the competition. The ability to choose what side and where the hydration system goes, for example. Next the ability to get into the pack without having to remove external gear that might be attached, and how comfortable it is to carry loaded, is also another feature that sets this backpack apart from others. I have bought cheap packs in the past that don't last. Most outdoor and military folks will always say, never skimp on a sleeping bag, tools (ie shovels, knives), hydration, and a means to carry it all. This is the backpack to get! Why get a small bag and then have to stretch it out at the seams to get your gear to fit? This design allows for the user to pack everything they want, anyway they want, with options to compartmentalize.
Last I would like to mention that the product was delivered on time, and in the bags from the factory. Doesn't get better than that!
 (0)
 (0)
I bought this the other day to use in my 5.11 back pack. It fits perfectly in the hydration bladder compartment. Love the antimicrobial linings and the slide seal for ease of cleaning. Got the UTA with it too so I can fill up on the go! Great stuff Source!
 (0)
 (0)
By Darius137 | 04/10/2013
It seems well thought out and the perfect size to attach to gear, but after two weeks of use my bladder popped.

Nylon seems to be good, but I am not sure I'd buy another Source bladder.
 (0)
 (0)
Reply by SOURCE
The problem you've described is most unusual and possibly warranty-covered by our manufacturing guarantee. Please contact our customer service and we'll assist you: info@SourceOutdoor.com
By Bill | 04/9/2013
I agree with Andrews review completely. Ergonomics are excellent, large and small/awkward loads are no problem at all.. By far the best pack I have ever owned.
 (0)
 (0)
By Oliver Boko | 03/16/2013
I only used 3 times the storm valve(from a friend),no problems, nice flow,no leaking,under normal conditions,But I prefer(mine) the old Helix style one ,and will convert to it on my new reservoir when my Pro 95 backpack bundle arrives :)
 (0)
 (0)
I just bought one of these packs and it is very well designed! It is very light and sits well on the back. Being 5'5" I am relatively short compared to other soldiers of mine and this pack is great for me because it sits higher and doesn't get in the way of my Fighting Load Carrier. Otherwise, I use it when I ride my bicycle to and from work and works great for that too!
 (0)
 (0)
SOURCE provided a prototype of this new planned 45L offering in the Fall of 2011 and asked for test and evaluation input. I used that prototype to hike the 26.2 mile Bataan Death March Memorial marathon in the 'heavy' category. About a year later, a production version arrived and I continued to conduct T&E on the concept. This review provides observations gleaned from both packs which are structurally almost identical.

I've written my observations from the perspective of a guy who has rucked Med/Lrg ALICE, MOLLE, ILBE, and have messed around with (but not rucked) FILBE. I also own an ATS RAID and Karrimor Sabre 45. I'm 6'2", 205 lbs, and wear a size 44L coat.

PROs -

The Double D's cup-shaped pockets at the bottom of the sides are perfect for stabilizing longer items that you want to secure with the beavertail's compression straps. They have the capacity to hold up to (4) 60mm or (2) 81mm rounds in their fibers, as well as secure the bottom of an extra hydration carrier, rifle buttstock, etc.

The pack was excellent at stabilizing any load I put in it, and that contributes to less fatigue and energy consumption on the move. Most of this stability came from the detachable waist belt, with the rest coming from the well-contoured shoulder straps. The basic orientation of the pack seems more alpine styled, and that allows the carried weight to ride closer and higher on the body. The pack is also well-built, but not over-built, which can create a weight penalty for little gain. The load lifters allow adjustment on the move and also minimize fatigue.

The sensible interior organization provides a means to secure a hydration bladder, radio or other bulky object, without unnecessary or excessive straps and material.

The beavertail concept is smart and functional. During the Bataan march, I carried four water bottles in the pockets and was able to extract them on the move. This component is where SOURCE's conceptual designs start to shine. I've secured a lot of odd-shaped items to the outside of the pack, from a rolled up bivvy sack, air mattresses, a helmet, ammo can, etc. The 3 liter pockets are perfect to stash warming layers, components of MREs, water bottles, extra magazines, you name it.

The waist belt has the perfect contour to avoid interface issues with armor. Having just read this, understand that if you wear a warbelt, you might have some issues in that department depending on the thickness of the belt and what you have attached to it. It's always a game of compromises; get it to work with armor and your 2nd line and you'll have drama with the 1st line, and vice-versa. This situation helps make some of the case for a minimized gunbelt if you can expect to run all three (pack, armor, and 1st line belt) frequently).

CONS -

The PALS sewn in along the bottom of the could be stitched more towards the outside edge, so large items that are lashed down do not interfere with the wearer's legs.

Although the pack can't be blamed for the laws of physics that afflict the majority of comparable packs over armor, the shoulder straps dug in to my armpits when I put a full load of about 50 lbs. in it and wore it over an Eagle plate carrier with front and back SAPIs. A Mystery Ranch strap-cinch solved the problem and the pack rode very comfortably. There were no comfort issues when worn without armor.

I've run the prototype and production versions of the Double D across 134 miles (yes, that's not a typo) of ruck marching, to include 20 miles while wearing a 1st Gen issued Eagle plate carrier with front and back ESAPIs. Some of it was during my workup to the Bataan Death March and the event itself. I've carried a variety of loadouts, from bags of rice, dumbbells wrapped in sleeping bags, and a complete 72-hr gear list (minus six stripped MREs). Weights averaged between 40 and 50 lbs, and Meni Keinan (head of military design) told me that it's designed to hold up to 55lbs. All straps and stitches have held up fine, despite the deliberate beating I put on the packs during T&E.

This is a very good pack with capacity for carrying a 72-hr tactical load across a broad climate range, including mission-essential equipment such as small arms ammunition, demolitions (e.g. M18 Claymore) C2 or leader tools, or biometric equipment. It appears to have the basic organization, capacity, and stability to carry a sniper's ancillary equipment and sustainment load. It would also serve a suitable role for certain hunters, outdoor enthusiasts, and folks with a need for preparedness resources that are staged and ready
 (0)
 (0)
By davv | 03/2/2013
Keeps leaking even when not using...
same issue on 2 different products

The Helix Valve is a lot better.
 (0)
 (0)
Reply by SOURCE
Be aware, the Storm valve is a push/pull valve, unlike the Helix bite-valve which has an integral shut-off.

In order to use the Storm valve properly make sure you lock the valve (push it closed), and twist it to a half turn when not drinking. Please contact us for further assistance: info@SourceOutdoor.com
By JT | 03/1/2013
Though one of the product photos suggests otherwise, this acccessory doesn't work that well with the cloth-covered hydration tubes. The cloth coverings add diameter to the tube making it a bit too thick for the clip-on piece. You *can* get it onto the tube, but it pinches it significantly and doesn't appear to fit right. I suppose this piece was originally designed for the bare, civilian style tubes. Rather than return it however (which wouldn't have been cost effective), I took a dremel tool and opened up the diameter of the tube clip piece. Now it fits great without crimping the tube. As for the strap clip, there's really nothing wrong with it; it'll work with the 3/4" or 1" straps. I mounted mine towards the bottom of my left shoulder strap, and now there is no slack in the last section of drinking tube. After you're done drinking, you just sort of toss the tube back to its side and the magnet is strong enough to grab it for you - it's awesome. If I didn't have to modify the part, I would easily have given this 5 stars. Though considering the great concept, and low price, I can't give it less than 4. After a bit of modification, this is a fantastic accessory.
 (0)
 (0)
Great solution, to replace your shitty canteen.
 (0)
 (0)
Great pack!
 (0)
 (0)
By Guest | 02/18/2013
What if your bladder is older and does not have QMT?
 (0)
 (0)
Reply by SOURCE
Please contact us for assistance with older models: info@SourceOutdoor.com