SOURCE Product Reviews (Page 10)

 

Write a review

Write a review and get 20% off your next purchase!

Write a review

Write a review and get 20% off your next purchase!
( you have to be logged in for the voucher
)

Great pack!
 (0)
 (0)
By Guest | 02/18/2013
What if your bladder is older and does not have QMT?
 (0)
 (0)
Reply by SOURCE
Please contact us for assistance with older models: info@SourceOutdoor.com
By Guest | 02/2/2013
When will this be available?
I wanted to order sandals along with tactical pack earlier, but seems like system is not integrated with civil version so I have to wait for this.
 (0)
 (0)
Reply by SOURCE
You can add commercial products to your Tactical order. Please contact us for details: info@SourceOutdoor.com
By Gesix | 01/28/2013
Лучший гидратор! вода месяц может пролежать (при стравливании воздуха) и ничего не станет!!!
 (0)
 (0)
By Guest | 11/26/2012
You can easily connect two tubes together.
 (0)
 (0)
By US tourist | 09/24/2012
This is the best backpack I have had. I will never buy a camelbak agean. Im loving the no tast blather!
 (0)
 (0)
By Joseph W. | 09/12/2012
I've never owned a hydration pack before, so I had no prior experience in the matter, nor any preferences to work with. All I knew was that I wanted a hydration pack with me on my upcoming Mount Washington hike. So like Andrew, I did a lot of research on hydration systems, sorting through various brands, pack sizes, and bladder features. I finally decided I wanted a basic, light-weight pack, small enough to allow full mobility, but large enough to hold a full-size 3L bladder and some additional essentials. A few friends recommended a more common brand, but their bladders received mixed reviews. Since the bladder is the core of the hydration pack, I set out to find the best bladder design, which led me to Source, and ultimately this Commander 5L model. From the glass-like interior, to the high-flow Storm valve, the bladder is so well designed and executed. All of the components work as intended, and the unit has never leaked. There is a bit of a learning curve with the Storm Valve, but it really is easier to drink from than the bite valves on my friends' packs. You just have to remember to lock the valve when you're done drinking or it'll end up dribbling all over your clothes. As for the pack itself, it is definitely a bit tight on storage, however I find its simplicity and quality of manufacture impressive. In retrospect I probably should have gone with the 10L capacity for my hike, but the 5L proved sufficient. Since I wasn't able to overload it, the lighter weight enabled me to move at a faster pace, and get to the mountain summit before nightfall. It ended up being a hot day out there - I left with a full 3L, but 6 hours later had less than .5L remaining. I honestly believe that without my Source Commander, I would not have made it up that mountain.
 (0)
 (0)
By TW Lewis | 09/11/2012
This is a fantastic product. For years I ised USMC issue gear and modified it to eliminate metal clips (alice) and other uncomfortable edges, switched to this after a tour with the IDF and brought one home. For non military applications it transits well into a vest for day packing or light camping/hiking with many pouches for gear and hydration bags, all carried comfortable. Excellent for search and rescue work. Its easy to pack and stow for emergency call out so you can put it on and run. Allows for excellent activity and body movements from rappelling, climbing, walking/running, operate vehicles and even decent for wear on horseback.
I love mine. Very versatile and lasts forever.
 (0)
 (0)
I haven't had this long enough to do a long term review but I can compare it to the CBRN Camelbak resevoir. We are issued Avon C50 gas masks and the Camelbak resevoir always concerned me because the mask drinking tube doesn't secure in the female connection of the Camelbak very securely. The source fits in solidly and takes quite a bit of effort to pull out so now I am not worried about it pulling free when I need it the most. The only con I've experienced is the CBRN resevoir does not ship with the holding ring around the cap and makes it slightly challenging to fill without getting your fingers inside the bladder, which I try avoid so as not to contaminate it. Regardless of Source's anti-bacteria properties, you should always wash your hands with anti-bacterial soap prior to filling.
 (0)
 (0)
Same guest that wrote that last review here. Did a couple tests.
1) here in the U.S., infortunetly we use chlorine and fluoride among other chemicals in our public tap water for "cleansing" agents. This is the water with which I filled my bladder. 24 hours later, it really tasted like those chemicals because it sat stagnant in a sealed bladder. I would not recommend tap water unless it is to be cycled through the bladder within 24 hours.
2) I used regular bottled filtered "spring" water. This I would also not recommend. After I popped open the bottle and let oxygen to it, it also tasted like chemicals. However I did not taste too bad 24 hours afterwards. It took almost 48 hours after filling bladder to start tasting horrible(just a little bit better than tap from U.S.)
3) I'm not sure what countries have access to water from a company of which calls their water Penta water. It was the best performer in this bladder. I left Penta bottled water in my bladder for 8 days and it still tasted like the water I put in there from day one. No change in taste. I am not advertising for Penta.
 (0)
 (0)
By Andrew Stonehouse | 08/8/2012
I purchased this product after about a month and a half of research to find the perfect pack for my needs. I ran, hiked, and walked A LOT with this thing and i can safely say that it met my demands quite well and exceeded my expectations.When i first bought this pack i was afraid that it wouldnt be the best pack for running but it actually turned out to be awesome for running activities. The straps can be adjusted to ensure that it does not bounce or "slap" your back during running or any other activity. The extra storage is great for holding your food and other items if you are going to be spending the day outdoors. Its been used very heavily for a month and a half and its stitching is still in pristine condition. Nothing has frayed, snapped, ripped or separated. The MOLLE webbing that it comes with lets you attach a variety of pouches and other accesories so you can hold more items or attach reflectors etc... I would recommend this item to anyone who likes to go on 1 to 15 hour adventures and to runners who like to carry extra items with them while they run.

-Andrew
 (0)
 (0)
By Antel tan Wei khoon | 08/6/2012
Good fit for my body and the material use is good and I used it for cycling and outdoor
 (0)
 (0)
Received upgrade kit today. Water tastes just like the water I put in it. I'll let it sit for three days and write another review. Thank you source.
 (0)
 (0)
By Chris Stafford | 06/26/2012
I gotta say this is by far the best hydration system I have ever come across. I bought it in 2007 and beat the shit out of it all over Canada, and other allies training areas. recently got back from the canadian mission in kandahar and i gotta say it went through some tough stuff and is STILL in perfect shape. It really is a cut above the rest
 (0)
 (0)
By Mike | 05/25/2012
I agree with what everyone said plus the back of the carrier has a pocket for your water filter.The zippered side of the carrier lets you hook up your water filter to go directly into the bladder.Best set up!
 (0)
 (0)
Use the magnet, much better...
 (0)
 (0)
I love my source hydration, but these docking stations are weak. I've gone through 2 already (they break pretty easily) and am trying to figure out if I should get the magnet clip or just use a carabiner on my rucks shoulder strap.
 (0)
 (0)
By Andrew | 04/27/2012
Excellent pack for long treks / trips. Able to pack everything up to the kitchen sink & up to two 3 liter hydration bladders in it. The real trick to this ruck is to not over pack it & overweight it.
 (0)
 (0)
By Tim | 04/17/2012
I replaced my old valve with the storm one and it much better. Another great product!
 (0)
 (0)
This is just a great overall idea! One of those, why didn't I think of those before. Just used it on a long deployment to great effect! Another great product!
 (0)
 (0)