SOURCE Product Reviews (Page 10)

 

Write a review

Write a review and get 20% off your next purchase!

Write a review

Write a review and get 20% off your next purchase!
( you have to be logged in for the voucher
)

By Tactical owl | 04/15/2013
First, excellent product. By far the best backpack I have ever owned. It is very spacious but not bulky. I compared it to the US military issued ILBE 65 liter backpack, and source pro 95L is by far a superior product. Though both show very good human engineering , quality, and ergonomics, this pack has an edge over the competition. The ability to choose what side and where the hydration system goes, for example. Next the ability to get into the pack without having to remove external gear that might be attached, and how comfortable it is to carry loaded, is also another feature that sets this backpack apart from others. I have bought cheap packs in the past that don't last. Most outdoor and military folks will always say, never skimp on a sleeping bag, tools (ie shovels, knives), hydration, and a means to carry it all. This is the backpack to get! Why get a small bag and then have to stretch it out at the seams to get your gear to fit? This design allows for the user to pack everything they want, anyway they want, with options to compartmentalize.
Last I would like to mention that the product was delivered on time, and in the bags from the factory. Doesn't get better than that!
 (0)
 (0)
I bought this the other day to use in my 5.11 back pack. It fits perfectly in the hydration bladder compartment. Love the antimicrobial linings and the slide seal for ease of cleaning. Got the UTA with it too so I can fill up on the go! Great stuff Source!
 (0)
 (0)
By Darius137 | 04/10/2013
It seems well thought out and the perfect size to attach to gear, but after two weeks of use my bladder popped.

Nylon seems to be good, but I am not sure I'd buy another Source bladder.
 (0)
 (0)
Reply by SOURCE
The problem you've described is most unusual and possibly warranty-covered by our manufacturing guarantee. Please contact our customer service and we'll assist you: info@SourceOutdoor.com
By Bill | 04/9/2013
I agree with Andrews review completely. Ergonomics are excellent, large and small/awkward loads are no problem at all.. By far the best pack I have ever owned.
 (0)
 (0)
By Oliver Boko | 03/16/2013
I only used 3 times the storm valve(from a friend),no problems, nice flow,no leaking,under normal conditions,But I prefer(mine) the old Helix style one ,and will convert to it on my new reservoir when my Pro 95 backpack bundle arrives :)
 (0)
 (0)
I just bought one of these packs and it is very well designed! It is very light and sits well on the back. Being 5'5" I am relatively short compared to other soldiers of mine and this pack is great for me because it sits higher and doesn't get in the way of my Fighting Load Carrier. Otherwise, I use it when I ride my bicycle to and from work and works great for that too!
 (0)
 (0)
SOURCE provided a prototype of this new planned 45L offering in the Fall of 2011 and asked for test and evaluation input. I used that prototype to hike the 26.2 mile Bataan Death March Memorial marathon in the 'heavy' category. About a year later, a production version arrived and I continued to conduct T&E on the concept. This review provides observations gleaned from both packs which are structurally almost identical.

I've written my observations from the perspective of a guy who has rucked Med/Lrg ALICE, MOLLE, ILBE, and have messed around with (but not rucked) FILBE. I also own an ATS RAID and Karrimor Sabre 45. I'm 6'2", 205 lbs, and wear a size 44L coat.

PROs -

The Double D's cup-shaped pockets at the bottom of the sides are perfect for stabilizing longer items that you want to secure with the beavertail's compression straps. They have the capacity to hold up to (4) 60mm or (2) 81mm rounds in their fibers, as well as secure the bottom of an extra hydration carrier, rifle buttstock, etc.

The pack was excellent at stabilizing any load I put in it, and that contributes to less fatigue and energy consumption on the move. Most of this stability came from the detachable waist belt, with the rest coming from the well-contoured shoulder straps. The basic orientation of the pack seems more alpine styled, and that allows the carried weight to ride closer and higher on the body. The pack is also well-built, but not over-built, which can create a weight penalty for little gain. The load lifters allow adjustment on the move and also minimize fatigue.

The sensible interior organization provides a means to secure a hydration bladder, radio or other bulky object, without unnecessary or excessive straps and material.

The beavertail concept is smart and functional. During the Bataan march, I carried four water bottles in the pockets and was able to extract them on the move. This component is where SOURCE's conceptual designs start to shine. I've secured a lot of odd-shaped items to the outside of the pack, from a rolled up bivvy sack, air mattresses, a helmet, ammo can, etc. The 3 liter pockets are perfect to stash warming layers, components of MREs, water bottles, extra magazines, you name it.

The waist belt has the perfect contour to avoid interface issues with armor. Having just read this, understand that if you wear a warbelt, you might have some issues in that department depending on the thickness of the belt and what you have attached to it. It's always a game of compromises; get it to work with armor and your 2nd line and you'll have drama with the 1st line, and vice-versa. This situation helps make some of the case for a minimized gunbelt if you can expect to run all three (pack, armor, and 1st line belt) frequently).

CONS -

The PALS sewn in along the bottom of the could be stitched more towards the outside edge, so large items that are lashed down do not interfere with the wearer's legs.

Although the pack can't be blamed for the laws of physics that afflict the majority of comparable packs over armor, the shoulder straps dug in to my armpits when I put a full load of about 50 lbs. in it and wore it over an Eagle plate carrier with front and back SAPIs. A Mystery Ranch strap-cinch solved the problem and the pack rode very comfortably. There were no comfort issues when worn without armor.

I've run the prototype and production versions of the Double D across 134 miles (yes, that's not a typo) of ruck marching, to include 20 miles while wearing a 1st Gen issued Eagle plate carrier with front and back ESAPIs. Some of it was during my workup to the Bataan Death March and the event itself. I've carried a variety of loadouts, from bags of rice, dumbbells wrapped in sleeping bags, and a complete 72-hr gear list (minus six stripped MREs). Weights averaged between 40 and 50 lbs, and Meni Keinan (head of military design) told me that it's designed to hold up to 55lbs. All straps and stitches have held up fine, despite the deliberate beating I put on the packs during T&E.

This is a very good pack with capacity for carrying a 72-hr tactical load across a broad climate range, including mission-essential equipment such as small arms ammunition, demolitions (e.g. M18 Claymore) C2 or leader tools, or biometric equipment. It appears to have the basic organization, capacity, and stability to carry a sniper's ancillary equipment and sustainment load. It would also serve a suitable role for certain hunters, outdoor enthusiasts, and folks with a need for preparedness resources that are staged and ready
 (0)
 (0)
By davv | 03/2/2013
Keeps leaking even when not using...
same issue on 2 different products

The Helix Valve is a lot better.
 (0)
 (0)
Reply by SOURCE
Be aware, the Storm valve is a push/pull valve, unlike the Helix bite-valve which has an integral shut-off.

In order to use the Storm valve properly make sure you lock the valve (push it closed), and twist it to a half turn when not drinking. Please contact us for further assistance: info@SourceOutdoor.com
By JT | 03/1/2013
Though one of the product photos suggests otherwise, this acccessory doesn't work that well with the cloth-covered hydration tubes. The cloth coverings add diameter to the tube making it a bit too thick for the clip-on piece. You *can* get it onto the tube, but it pinches it significantly and doesn't appear to fit right. I suppose this piece was originally designed for the bare, civilian style tubes. Rather than return it however (which wouldn't have been cost effective), I took a dremel tool and opened up the diameter of the tube clip piece. Now it fits great without crimping the tube. As for the strap clip, there's really nothing wrong with it; it'll work with the 3/4" or 1" straps. I mounted mine towards the bottom of my left shoulder strap, and now there is no slack in the last section of drinking tube. After you're done drinking, you just sort of toss the tube back to its side and the magnet is strong enough to grab it for you - it's awesome. If I didn't have to modify the part, I would easily have given this 5 stars. Though considering the great concept, and low price, I can't give it less than 4. After a bit of modification, this is a fantastic accessory.
 (0)
 (0)
Great solution, to replace your shitty canteen.
 (0)
 (0)
Great pack!
 (0)
 (0)
By Guest | 02/18/2013
What if your bladder is older and does not have QMT?
 (0)
 (0)
Reply by SOURCE
Please contact us for assistance with older models: info@SourceOutdoor.com
By Guest | 02/2/2013
When will this be available?
I wanted to order sandals along with tactical pack earlier, but seems like system is not integrated with civil version so I have to wait for this.
 (0)
 (0)
Reply by SOURCE
You can add commercial products to your Tactical order. Please contact us for details: info@SourceOutdoor.com
By Gesix | 01/28/2013
Лучший гидратор! вода месяц может пролежать (при стравливании воздуха) и ничего не станет!!!
 (0)
 (0)
By Guest | 11/26/2012
You can easily connect two tubes together.
 (0)
 (0)
By US tourist | 09/24/2012
This is the best backpack I have had. I will never buy a camelbak agean. Im loving the no tast blather!
 (0)
 (0)
By Joseph W. | 09/12/2012
I've never owned a hydration pack before, so I had no prior experience in the matter, nor any preferences to work with. All I knew was that I wanted a hydration pack with me on my upcoming Mount Washington hike. So like Andrew, I did a lot of research on hydration systems, sorting through various brands, pack sizes, and bladder features. I finally decided I wanted a basic, light-weight pack, small enough to allow full mobility, but large enough to hold a full-size 3L bladder and some additional essentials. A few friends recommended a more common brand, but their bladders received mixed reviews. Since the bladder is the core of the hydration pack, I set out to find the best bladder design, which led me to Source, and ultimately this Commander 5L model. From the glass-like interior, to the high-flow Storm valve, the bladder is so well designed and executed. All of the components work as intended, and the unit has never leaked. There is a bit of a learning curve with the Storm Valve, but it really is easier to drink from than the bite valves on my friends' packs. You just have to remember to lock the valve when you're done drinking or it'll end up dribbling all over your clothes. As for the pack itself, it is definitely a bit tight on storage, however I find its simplicity and quality of manufacture impressive. In retrospect I probably should have gone with the 10L capacity for my hike, but the 5L proved sufficient. Since I wasn't able to overload it, the lighter weight enabled me to move at a faster pace, and get to the mountain summit before nightfall. It ended up being a hot day out there - I left with a full 3L, but 6 hours later had less than .5L remaining. I honestly believe that without my Source Commander, I would not have made it up that mountain.
 (0)
 (0)
By TW Lewis | 09/11/2012
This is a fantastic product. For years I ised USMC issue gear and modified it to eliminate metal clips (alice) and other uncomfortable edges, switched to this after a tour with the IDF and brought one home. For non military applications it transits well into a vest for day packing or light camping/hiking with many pouches for gear and hydration bags, all carried comfortable. Excellent for search and rescue work. Its easy to pack and stow for emergency call out so you can put it on and run. Allows for excellent activity and body movements from rappelling, climbing, walking/running, operate vehicles and even decent for wear on horseback.
I love mine. Very versatile and lasts forever.
 (0)
 (0)
I haven't had this long enough to do a long term review but I can compare it to the CBRN Camelbak resevoir. We are issued Avon C50 gas masks and the Camelbak resevoir always concerned me because the mask drinking tube doesn't secure in the female connection of the Camelbak very securely. The source fits in solidly and takes quite a bit of effort to pull out so now I am not worried about it pulling free when I need it the most. The only con I've experienced is the CBRN resevoir does not ship with the holding ring around the cap and makes it slightly challenging to fill without getting your fingers inside the bladder, which I try avoid so as not to contaminate it. Regardless of Source's anti-bacteria properties, you should always wash your hands with anti-bacterial soap prior to filling.
 (0)
 (0)
Same guest that wrote that last review here. Did a couple tests.
1) here in the U.S., infortunetly we use chlorine and fluoride among other chemicals in our public tap water for "cleansing" agents. This is the water with which I filled my bladder. 24 hours later, it really tasted like those chemicals because it sat stagnant in a sealed bladder. I would not recommend tap water unless it is to be cycled through the bladder within 24 hours.
2) I used regular bottled filtered "spring" water. This I would also not recommend. After I popped open the bottle and let oxygen to it, it also tasted like chemicals. However I did not taste too bad 24 hours afterwards. It took almost 48 hours after filling bladder to start tasting horrible(just a little bit better than tap from U.S.)
3) I'm not sure what countries have access to water from a company of which calls their water Penta water. It was the best performer in this bladder. I left Penta bottled water in my bladder for 8 days and it still tasted like the water I put in there from day one. No change in taste. I am not advertising for Penta.
 (0)
 (0)