Patrol 35L Hydration Cargo Pack - Product Reviews

The patrol is a versatile 35L pack. The updated design (available since 2014) features improved back system, reduced weight and overall sturdier pack. The WLPS 3L hydration system is included .    - Patrol 35L Hydration Cargo Pack product details »
 

Write a review

Write a review and get 20% off your next purchase!

Patrol 35L Hydration Cargo Pack

Patrol 35L Hydration Cargo Pack

The patrol is a versatile 35L pack. The updated design (available since 2014) features improved back system, reduced weight and overall sturdier...

Write a review

Write a review and get 20% off your next purchase!
( you have to be logged in for the voucher
)

Only registered users can post a new review.
By Nicholas B. | 06/2/2017
Excellent
This is a good medium weight pack for hiking around in. I filled it to capacity and surprisingly it felt really comfortable. The pack made no creaking or jingling sounds when I walked around with it on.

Unlike a lot of other packs I have bought from reputable companies, this pack wasn't bristling with loose threads and messy stitching running everywhere that I had to tidy up. I really can't fault the craftsmanship of this pack. Likewise, none of the seams burst when I filled it or attached MOLLE pouches.

Some things I would like to see for the 35 L Patrol next gen would be some more PALS webbing on the hip belt. The hip belt is a great feature of this pack and is very comfortable, however a couple more rows of PALS webbing would've fit nicely on either side where those blank spaces are. Also, the top pouch where the Source logo is appears to provide enough real estate for a small patch of loop Velcro or a small panel of PALS webbing but aside from that, this is an excellent pack. The best one I have owned.

In summary, it looks great and feels great. Well made and worth the money.
 (0)
 (0)
By I beat the crap out of it and it don't care - "bullet proof" | 08/31/2015
"Bullet proof" so far. i jumped on some stuff to smash it into the pack so i could get the zipper closed; took the abuse without any creaking of the zipper or material. Adequate hard bottom on main compartment. The back rest has excellent stiff mesh material with a shank that runs the length of it to ensure rigidity. Shoulder straps excellent, waist strap incredibly nice and stiff. All the adjustments on those strap that are to be had. i squeezed the crap out of it with the compression straps on the side for main pocket; they fell a bit short due to their angle and having to slide through a ring. i think they are more to just stabilize a loose load in the main compartment if needed, i believe them to be adequate for that purpose. I then hiked up the Narrows in Zions National Park with it full. This was ten miles of "scrambling" and scraping over rocks and boulders, walking over loose rocks, trudging through mud, wading through water and sometimes swimming. It would appear that the pack is highly water resistant. only one pocket took in water during the trip and i had to undo the zipper a bit and turn the pack on end to lose the water; there are no drainage holes in the pack. Drainage is a give and take situation really and since the pack is highly water resistant (i swam a few times with it and no water penetrated the main compartment) i believe no drainage is the right choice for this pack. As a retired Marine Corps. Infantry Man I've had a lot of crappy stuff and good stuff, i say this thing is excellent.
 (0)
 (0)
By Shawn | 03/14/2015
The Army Guy
I've had this pack for three years and just yesterday washed it, still looks brand new. I am in the military so I use this bag all the time and its been through some torture. I also use the bag for traveling, I managed to fit 10 days worth of clothes in this bag so it is a lot bigger than it appears. Source makes great products and I will keep buying bags from them.
 (0)
 (0)
By Nicolas Ph (France) | 11/19/2014
Areally good rucksack !
I bought it 7 month ago and still do the job. I make some trips all over Europa (Spain, Italy, France, Switzerland and Hungary) carrying loads from a few kg to nearly 20kg and nothing had been deteriorated ! I use it also nearly everyday. It has a good capacity and can be increased by adding some pouches on the MOLLE anchors whether inside it in the main compartment or outside. The straps on both sides allows to compress the pack in order to stabilize it (with some loads inside it). Those straps can be very useful to attach some xtra clothings you don't wear or whatever you need to have nearby. The removable metal frame is a good point : it depends on the load you have to carry with the pack, you can leave it or not. Thanks to the pairs of anchors you can add some stuff under (tarp, mat....). The zips are very robust and easy to operate even with gloves.
I used it in Spain and Italy on long walks under the mediterranean sun and I can say that the back breath incredibly well. It's well constructed and very rugged; with the belt you can stabilize the weight on your hips (when the pack is not heavy, you can just detach it), the padded shoulders straps can withstand long walks easily with medium/ heavy loads : it's very comfortable even with heavy loads. You can adjust them easily to every morphology. The front pockets are well made and placed ingeniously ! In the lower you can place a softshell or a light/medium fleece and in the higher one, you can store little objects you need hand reachable (keys, ID cards, pens...). This pack sold with an insulated hydration compartment & WLPS hydration system is a very clever formula. It keeps water in a constant temperature (in hot days the compartment is large enough to accept an ice pack). With 35L capacity it's a versatile "workhorse" : you can do everything !


The negative points are :
-no renforcement on the lower part of the rucksack. So be careful cause it can wear out with abrasion in the future.

-the nylon used is not completely waterproof and living in a wet region of France....I know it. But all in all, with a cover ouside and waterproof bags inside you don't have nothing to fear concerning raining. This bag can face to a little rain but don't expect to have your content dry with a heavier raining. Use a cover and/ or nylon waterproofing.

-No quick detach system to the suspenders.

In conclusion, Source has done a really good rucksack ! Keep going !
 (0)
 (0)
By eleyfish | 06/25/2014
I did a lot of research on hydration backpacks capable of carrying a lot of gear in addition to the hydration bladder, there are not many out there and this is the best value by far.
Quality materials and construction, fast international shipping, great comfort and compartments, and no suprises. I also really appreciate the waist belt being removable, when I am cycling, having the waist belt on other packs has been uncomfortable.
If they offered in a bright color I would buy another one and have one dedicated to hiking/cycling and one for hunting.
 (0)
 (0)
Great product, great price, great customer service! So happy with this purchase. I'll definitely be recommending Source products to my co-workers and anyone else looking for quality hydration packs.

Well done Source!
 (0)
 (0)
By Marty | 05/20/2014
Got this pack on a really good sale from the website (free air freight all the way to New Zealand!). Amazing value for money. The pack and bladder are extremely well made and very comfortable, even with a full load. The pack is very versatile and looking forward to using it alot for hunting, hiking, and as a bug out bag. Will be recommending Source products to all my friends and family. Very happy customer.
 (0)
 (0)
By THOMAS | 04/15/2014
This pack is phenomenal! There is just to much good to mention. I plan on purchasing another for EDC in my truck to pack with emergency/bugout stuff. Wish I had known about Source before I bought my Camelbak stuff.
 (0)
 (0)
By kyle | 08/27/2011
also it filled the bladder up when it was still in bag and some spilled out but no worrie it does not get in any other comparment it does go right out the bottom tho.
 (0)
 (0)
By kyle | 08/27/2011
i have this pack i got it for 80$ brand new from the local army and navy store they said"A army guy sold two of them to to him" and that he looked it up on line and it was listed for 160$ but when i got home i saw that he looked at the wrong one.This pack is the best i have ever had i had to get it for my high school which is a military academy.The 3 liters last me thought out the day i thought it might be to small but it just right.Every one i know wants one.It is very light weight and the two straps help distribute the weight.It has a medal rod that is located behind the bladder (where the water goes) it is in a pocket it is there to keep the bag from binding but it may help to take it out if u get a pain in your back .If u buy this u will be a very happy shopper.
 (0)
 (0)
By Guest | 06/15/2011
I have one of the packs and love it. I use it for camping and hiking it holds all my gear I tie my sleeping bag and tent to it sometimes a tie my big ass camera bag to it. The bladders are the best I have, found 3 liters last for a good while. I haven't had a rip or tear it does pretty good with keeping water out. best pack you could ask for.
 (0)
 (0)